History

The history of the Institute and its school is intimately connected to the history of its founder, Jacques Félix (1923-2006).

The discovery of the art of puppetry in the context of a Boy Scout setting led Jacques Félix to create the association "Petits Comédiens de Chiffons" with some friends in 1948. "Chiffon" is a word meaning "cloth" in French and the name is in reference to the cloth puppets the company used in its shows.

In 1961 the first festival was organised, welcoming around fifteen companies, and also hosting the second national congress of the French guignoliste and puppeteers' union.

The city of Charleville-Mézières was selected in 1972 to host the 11th congress of UNIMA (Union International de la Marionnette). It was a real success and it was then that the idea for an International (to become "World") Festival of Puppet Theatres was born...

This is how the puppet was endorsed in Charleville-Mézières, but a permanent venue was still lacking. Jacques Félix was president of the Petits Comédiens de Chiffons association, founding president of the Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes as well as general secretary for UNIMA (Union International de la Marionnette) - which he would be from 1980 to 2000 -, and was supported by Territorial Communities and the Ministry of Culture. As such, and with all the energy he was known for, he focused on a project to create the Institute. The Institut International de la Marionnette came into being in 1981 and opened in the heart of the city.

The puppet had a venue at last. Professionalizing the puppeteer trade through specific teaching was yet to be accomplished. To remedy the need, ESNAM (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts de la Marionnette) was created in 1987 thanks to the combined efforts of Jacques Félix and Margereta Niculescu, founder and then president of the UNIMA Professional Training Committee. Margereta Niculescu was director of ESNAM until 1998. Innovative educational methods were invented around the notion of the puppeteer-performer, taking into consideration the entire evolution of contemporary puppet theatre. IIM Publishing came into being in 1988 and the Villa d'Aubilly, a residence for researchers and creators, was inaugurated in 1996.

The Institute maintains the PAM (Puppetry Arts Portal) initiated in 2008 as part of the call for projects by the Ministry of Culture and Communication for the digitization of cultural heritage and contemporary creation.

So as to consolidate its original objectives centring on research, in 2012 the Institut International de la Marionnette structured its documentary, academic and editorial activities around a Research Centre. In May 2016 the Circus and Puppet Innovation Chair (ICiMa) was launched. Led by the Institut Intérnational de la Marionnette and the Centre National des Arts du Cirque (National Centre for Circus Arts), it sought to create a regional centre of expertise in a variety of fields: innovative use of materials, movement and risk prevention in the performing arts, enhancement of cultural heritage and mediation, the contribution of creativity in the performing arts to applied research, the development of new sustainable economic and social synergies.

In September 2017, the students of ESNAM – national institution awarding the DNSPC (national diploma) with actor-puppeteer specialisation since 2016 - began their academic year in a new building entirely designed for puppet arts training.

Will power and plenty of audacity have now been rewarded. The range of activities of the Institut International de la Marionnette has made it a unique place in France and in the world, and it is indeed asserting itself more than ever as the centre of reference for puppetry arts in the spheres of research and training.

Histoire

L'histoire de l'Institut International de la Marionnette

L'histoire de l'Institut International de la Marionnette et de son école est intimement liée à celles de Jacques Félix (1923-2006) et de Margareta Niculecu (1926-2018).

La découverte de l'art de la marionnette dans le cadre du scoutisme conduira Jacques Félix à créer en 1948, avec quelques amis, l'association des Petits Comédiens de Chiffons, en référence aux marionnettes de tissus utilisées dans les spectacles de cette compagnie.
Dès 1961 s'organise le premier festival, qui accueille une quinzaine de compagnies, avec également la tenue de la deuxième édition du congrès national du syndicat des guignolistes et marionnettistes français.
En 1972, la ville de Charleville-Mézières est retenue pour accueillir le XIème congrès de l'UNIMA (Union Internationale de la Marionnette). C'est un véritable succès, et c'est à ce moment-là que naît l'idée d'un Festival International des Théâtres de Marionnettes, devenu Mondial...

La marionnette est ainsi consacrée à Charleville-Mézières, mais un lieu permanent fait toujours défaut. Jacques Félix, Président de l'association des Petits Comédiens de Chiffons et Président fondateur du Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes, également Secrétaire Général de l'UNIMA (Union Internationale de la Marionnette) - il en sera le Secrétaire Général de 1980 à 2000 - soutenu par les collectivités territoriales et le ministère de la Culture, va alors porter, avec toute l'énergie qu'on lui connaît, le projet de création de l'Institut. L'Institut International de la Marionnette voit le jour en 1981 et s'installe au cœur de la ville.

La marionnette avait enfin un lieu. Il restait à professionnaliser le métier de marionnettiste par un enseignement spécifique. Pour y remédier, l'ESNAM (École Nationale Supérieure des Arts de la Marionnette) sera créée en 1987 grâce aux efforts conjugués de Jacques Félix et Margareta Niculescu, fondatrice et alors Présidente de la Commission Formation professionnelle de l'UNIMA. Margareta Niculescu sera la directrice de l'ESNAM jusqu'en 1998. Une pédagogie innovante s'invente autour de la notion d'acteur-marionnettiste, prenant en compte toutes les évolutions du théâtre de marionnette contemporain. Les Editions de l'IIM voient le jour en 1988 et la Villa d'Aubilly, résidence pour chercheurs et créateurs, est inaugurée en 1996.

L'Institut porte le Portail des arts de la marionnette initié en 2008 dans le cadre de l'appel à projets du Ministère de la culture et de la communication pour la numérisation du patrimoine et de la création contemporaine.

Pour consolider ses missions originelles autour de la recherche, l'Institut international de la marionnette structure, en 2012, ses activités documentaires, scientifiques et éditoriales autour d'un pôle Recherche et documentation. En mai 2016, la Chaire d'innovation ICiMa, Cirque et Marionnette est lancée. Portée par l'Institut International de la Marionnette et le Centre national des arts du cirque, elle vise à constituer en région un pôle d'expertise de compétence, dans différents domaines : usages innovants de matériaux, geste et prévention des risques dans le spectacle vivant, valorisation du patrimoine et médiation, apport de la créativité du spectacle vivant à la recherche appliquée, développement de nouvelles synergies économiques et sociales durables.

En septembre 2017, les étudiants de l'ESNAM - qui délivre le DNSPC spécialité acteur-marionnettiste depuis 2016 - font leur rentrée dans un nouveau bâtiment entièrement pensé pour la formation aux arts de la marionnette.

De la volonté et beaucoup d'audace sont aujourd'hui récompensées. L'Institut International de la Marionnette, lieu unique en France et dans le monde par l'ensemble de ses activités, s'affirme en effet plus que jamais comme le pôle de référence des arts de la marionnette dans les domaines de la recherche et de la formation.