Education

The training dynamics are structured by the director of the School, the Academic director and the Teaching Committee and are in keeping with the outline of the DNSPC puppeteer-actor speciality and its trade-specific reference. Regular lessons and workshops directed by artists, both from France and abroad, alternate throughout the whole curriculum. They are based on constant interplay between theory and practice, conception and implementation.

In addition, a Licence (French BA equivalent, three-year university degree) in Performing Arts is issued to ESNAM graduates by a partner University

The pedagogical programme

A school in constant motion, characterized by contemporary creations, and whose objectives are:

  • Training actor- puppeteers to a high level by exploring the specific techniques of the art of puppetry (glove, rod puppets, string puppets, shadow and object theatre...) and the fundamentals of stagecraft: dramatic play, voice, body, dramaturgy, plastic arts, and scenography.
  • Transmitting to students knowledge and methods that encourage the development of their personal creativity and serve on a collective level.
  • Committing students to develop research and a taste for risk and experimentation.

ESNAM, housed in new premises entirely designed for training in puppetry arts since September 2017, allows for the development of work methodologies whose purpose is to make future professionals autonomous and responsible..

Teaching Committee

The training dynamics are structured by the Teaching Committee and are in keeping with the outline of the DNSPC puppeteer-actor speciality and its trade-specific reference. Regular lessons and workshops directed by artists, both from France and abroad, alternate throughout the whole curriculum. They are based on constant interplay between theory and practice, conception and implementation.

The curriculum

First year: Fundamental teachings and puppetry techniques
This year addresses basic and fundamental teachings for the actorpuppeteer: dramatic play, body techniques, voice, plastic arts applied to construction, play and manipulation.

Second year: Further study and experimentation
This year is dedicated to composition. Regular work allows students to assimilate construction techniques, manipulation, movement and acting for the purpose of experiencing as an actor the stylistic potential of puppets, images and objects. The students perform under the direction of recognised professionals.
In parallel, the students carry out an internship with a company or cultural organisation in order to prepare for their professional integration.

Third year: Research and creation
The third year is devoted to research and creation and makes it possible to summon up acquisitions from the training in a creative way.
Creation of a short solo performance with the support and guidance of artist advisors, and realisation of end-of-studies creations performed and staged by the students.

Administration, management, knowledge of cultural politics and professional networks, as well as the history of live performance and puppetry arts are also approached throughout the entire curriculum.

End of workshop presentations, end of year productions, solo performances and diploma projects are performed in front of audiences consisting of the general public, but also guest programmers or professionals, with a view towards promoting students’ future integration and standing in the profession.

Students have access to the Institute’s research centre and to the research work carried out by the ICiMa Chair.

Professional integration programmes are proposed to graduates: contracts for training and professionalization in collaboration with companies or cultural institutions, Tremplin residencies, employment incentives, help and guidance with first productions and promotion…

Enseignement

La dynamique des études est structurée par le directeur de l'établissement, le directeur de la formation et le Conseil pédagogique. Elle s'inscrit dans la maquette du DNSPC spécialité acteur-marionnettiste et de son référentiel métier, avec des cours réguliers et stages dirigés par des artistes, français·e·s et étranger·e·s, reconnus pour leurs qualités artistiques et pédagogiques alternent tout au long du cursus. Ils sont basés sur un aller-retour constant entre théorie et pratique, entre conception et réalisation.
Par ailleurs, la Licence mention Arts du spectacle est délivrée aux diplômés de l'ESNAM par l'UFR des Arts de l'UPJV d'Amiens.

Le projet pédagogique

Une école en mouvement permanent, placée sous le signe de la création contemporaine, dont les objectifs sont de :

  • Former des acteurs-marionnettistes de haut niveau en explorant les techniques spécifiques des arts de la marionnette (gaine, tige, fil, ombre, objet...) et les fondamentaux des arts de la scène : jeu dramatique, voix, corps, dramaturgie, arts plastiques, scénographie.
  • Transmettre aux étudiant·e·s des connaissances et des méthodes favorisant l'épanouissement de leur créativité personnelle et au service d'un collectif.
  • Engager les étudiant·e·s à cultiver la recherche, le goût du risque et l'expérimentation.

Installée depuis septembre 2017 dans des locaux pensés pour la formation aux arts de la marionnette, l'ESNAM permet le développement de méthodologies de travail avec pour objectif de rendre autonomes et responsables les future.e.s professionnel.le.s.

Le conseil pédagogique

La dynamique des études est structurée par la réflexion du Conseil pédagogique et s'inscrit dans la maquette du DNSP et de son référentiel métier.
Cours réguliers et stages dirigés par des artistes, français et étrangers, alternent tout au long du cursus.
Ils sont basés sur un aller et retour constant entre théorie et pratique, entre conception et réalisation.

Le programme des études

Première année : Enseignements fondamentaux et techniques de marionnette
Elle aborde les techniques de base et les enseignements fondamentaux de l'acteur-marionnettiste : jeu dramatique, techniques corporelles, voix, arts plastiques appliqués à la construction, jeu et manipulation.

Deuxième année : Approfondissement et expérimentation
Elle est consacrée à la composition et à l'intégration des techniques de construction, manipulation, mouvement et de jeu dans le but d'expérimenter en tant qu'interprète les potentiels d'écriture de la marionnette, de l'image ou de l'objet. Les étudiant·e·s sont mis·e·s en scène par des professionnel·le·s reconnu·e·s.

En parallèle, les étudiant·e·s effectuent un stage en compagnie ou en structure culturelle afin de préparer leur insertion.

Troisième année : Recherche et création
Elle est placée sous le signe de la recherche et de la création et permet de mobiliser les acquis de la formation de manière créative.
Création d'un solo en forme courte, accompagnée par des artistes référent·e·s. et réalisation de projets de fin d'études, portés et mis en scène par les étudiant·e·s.

Tout au long du cursus, sont également abordés : l'administration, la gestion, la connaissance des politiques culturelles et des réseaux, ainsi que l'histoire du spectacle vivant et des arts de la marionnette.

La présentation des réalisations de fin de stages, de fin d'année, les solos ou les spectacles de diplôme se déroulent en présence du public, mais également de diffuseurs ou de professionnel·le·s invité·e·s, afin de favoriser l'insertion future des étudiant·e·s et leur repérage.

Les étudiant·e·s bénéficient d'un accès au centre de documentation de l'Institut International de la Marionnette et aux travaux de recherche de la Chaire ICiMa.

Des dispositifs d'insertion professionnelle sont proposés aux diplômé·e·s : stages et contrats de professionnalisation en collaboration avec des compagnies ou des structures, résidences Tremplin, aide à l'embauche, accompagnement des premières productions et diffusion...